Welcome! As part of its ongoing mission to document the Art and Production History of Star Trek, this site will present technical articles on Star Trek prop and costume authentication - focusing on The Original Series - with detailed photos and episode screenshots to complement the information presented; as well as feature pictorials to showcase Star Trek memorabilia in private & public collections, present rare Behind The Scenes TOS imagery & discuss other topics.
Gerald Gurian is a 40+ year collector of screen used Star Trek memorabilia and a passionate fan of TOS
- Star Trek TOS At Auction Part I - Gurian Collection Highlights - Greg Jein TOS Hero Type II Phaser
-Authenticating a TOS Communicator -6 Myths About Star Trek Prop Design -Star Trek 3rd Season Command Tunic
- Design Features of TOS Tricorders -Star Trek Props At National Air & Space - TOS Leatherette Tricorder
- TOS Federation Sciences Dress -Desilu Studio TOS Prop Fabrication - Unreleased Allen/Gurian Prop Photos
- The Beautiful Women of TOS Part I -TOS U.S.S. Enterprise 11' Filming Model - Captain Kirk's Chair from TOS
- Spock Ears -TOS Control Panels & Displays - Mr. Spock's Science Station
- TOS Soundstage at Desilu -TOS Shatner Romulan Pants - The Beautiful Women of TOS Pt. II
- TOS Galileo Shuttlecraft -Greg Jein TOS Cage Laser Pistol - TOS 3rd Season Midgrade Type II Phaser
- Dr. McCoy's Sickbay on TOS -TOS Balok Puppet Head - Captain Kirk "Mirror, Mirror" Tunic
- Greg Jein TOS Hero Tricorder -1992 Smithsonian TOS Cast Video - TOS 1st Season Command Tunic
- TOS "Where No Man" Silver Contact Lenses -TOS Special Effects: The Transporter - The Art of Matt Jefferies
- TOS "Space Seed" Gold Mesh Jumpsuit -Gorn Costume from "Arena" - Rare TOS Behind-the-Scenes Videos
- TOS Stunt Type II Phaser -1993 Bill Theiss Estate Auction - TOS Shatner Command Dress Tunic
- TOS Elasian Royal Guard Tunic -TOS Finnegan Silver "Shore Leave" Tunic - TOS Science Officer Tunic "The Cage"
- TOS Shatner Early 1st Season Command Tunic -William Shatner TOS Tunics At Auction - TOS Shatner Late 1st Season Command Tunic

Saturday, May 24, 2014

Simulated U.S.S. Enterprise TOS Bridge Update IV

Below are some photos of the current appearance of my full scale Constitution Class Starship partial Bridge replica, which simulates a TOS environment and occupies a small 10' x 11.5' room.

The most recent enhancements include the addition of several ships status graphics panels/monitor displays (taken from different TOS bridge work stations) to complement the Science Station mockup, as well as an upgrade of the vintage Burke model #115 chair at the Science Station with an authentically crafted TOS-style back rest and seat cushion ...

The TOS Bridge Chair upgrade was performed by none other than the exceptionally talented Ralph Miller, who has served as prop maker and sound effects editor/engineer on numerous Star Trek fan film productions, including Starship Farragut, Star Trek New Voyages: Phase II and Star Trek Continues ...

As always, my pointy-eared Science Officer can frequently be seen at her station monitoring this quadrant of the galaxy for any subspace anomalies ...

Sunday, May 18, 2014

Marc Cushman to receive Special Recognition Award at this year's 40th Annual Saturn Awards for "These Are The Voyages - TOS" Season One & Season Two books

Congratulations to Marc Cushman, author of the "These Are The Voyages - TOS" Season One and Season Two books, who has been recognized by the prestigious Academy of Science Fiction Fantasy & Horror Films with a SPECIAL ACHIEVEMENT AWARD for his tremendous work in writing this book series. Marc will receive his Saturn Award at a special ceremony in Burbank, CA on June 26th.

The Saturn Awards Organization Announces Special Award Honors to Be Presented at the 40th Annual Saturn Awards
Press Release: May 14, 2014 

BURBANK, Calif. – The Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Films announced several special awards which will be presented at this year’s 40th Annual Saturn Awards, which celebrates the best in genre entertainment.

Receiving the Dan Curtis Legacy Award will be writer/producer BRYAN FULLER. Actor MALCOLM McDOWELL will be receiving the Life Career Award. Special Make-Up Effects Creator GREGORY NICOTERO will be honored with the George Pal Memorial Award and author MARC CUSHMAN has been chosen to receive the Special Recognition Award for his recent book publications on Star Trek.

BRYAN FULLER, is the developer and one of the Executive Producers and writers of NBC’s acclaimed series “Hannibal”. He has also created and developed several other television series, “Wonderfalls”, “Dead Like Me”, and “Pushing Daisies”, as well as writing individual episodes for these series. Fuller has also scripted episodes of several television shows including “Heroes”, “Star Trek: Voyager”, and “Star Trek: Deep Space Nine”. He also wrote the television special, “Mockingbird Lane” in 2012. He will be presented with the DAN CURTIS LEGACY AWARD which is annually presented in honor of legendary Producer and Director Dan Curtis (“Dark Shadows” and “The Night Stalker”).

Acclaimed actor MALCOLM MCDOWELL will be presented with the LIFE CAREER AWARD. This versatile and charismatic performer has chilled and thrilled audiences for decades in a multitude of diverse roles; from Stanley Kubrick’s landmark dystopian sci-fi thriller “A Clockwork Orange,” “O Lucky Man,” “Royal Flash,” Paul Schrader’s “Cat People,” and “Star Trek: Generations” to his role as H.G. Wells in “Time After Time.” Television fans have also come to know him for his memorable appearances on NBC’s “Heroes,” TNT’s Franklin & Bash, and CBS’ The Mentalist.

Special Makeup FX master GREGORY NICOTERO will receive the GEORGE PAL MEMORIAL AWARD. As co-founder of K.N.B. Effects Group, Greg’s work has frightened and delighted audiences in over 400 films and television projects including “Day of the Dead,” “From Dusk Till Dawn” “The Green Mile,” “Kill Bill, Volume 1 & 2” and “Oz the Great and Powerful,”. Nicotero has added to his resume the titles of Executive Producer and Director on episodes of AMC’s acclaimed Saturn-winning series “The Walking Dead”. This award is named after visionary filmmaker, George Pal, who mesmerized us in producing and/or directing such iconic classic films such as “War of the Worlds”, “When Worlds Collide”, and “The Time Machine”.

Author MARC CUSHMAN has been chosen to receive the SPECIAL RECOGNITION AWARD for his recent books These are the Voyages: TOS: Season One and These are the Voyages: TOS: Season Two which are published by Jacobs Brown Press. These books detail the making of the original Star Trek series and cover the making and development of each episode. This project took six years of research to complete. The first book was printed at 600 pages and the second one was published at 688 pages. The third book (Season 3) will be published later this year. This is one of the great achievements of 2013/2014 in literature.

All special award recipients are confirmed to attend The 40th Annual Saturn Awards and accept their honors on stage.

The Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Films is a non-profit organization founded in 1972 by film historian Dr. Donald A. Reed to honor and recognize genre entertainment. Robert Holguin is the current President of the 42 year old non-profit Academy. The Saturn Award is highly regarded and respected by ground-breaking visionaries who work in the film and television industry including James Cameron, George Lucas, J.J. Abrams, Dean Devlin, Guillermo del Toro, Peter Jackson, Kevin Feige, and Steven Spielberg.

This year’s 40th Annual Saturn Awards will take place at the Castaway Starlight Ballroom on June 26. For a complete list of this year’s nominations, please visit our website: www.saturnawards.org.